Followers! The Blog is Changing and I Need Your Help!

I didn’t start this blog to become famous.

Which is a good thing because this blog has brought me nowhere near fame. 2014 has been my best year yet for average view per day, and that average is 10. 10 is nothing. 10 is pathetic. After more than two years of hard work and 185 posts 10 is a sorry number to show for it. So it’s a good thing that I didn’t start this blog to get lots of traffic. I started it to become a better writer, and I think I’ve done alright on that front.

Lately I’ve been finding it hard to post. There have been dry spells before on the blog, but this is different. I’ve lacked almost all motivation to write blog posts. I only wrote my last post because a news article got me riled up and I decided that I might as well channel my frustration into something productive. But that’s no way to run a blog, unless you’re the type who gets riled up about everything. I enjoy writing, and I want to keep the blog up, but I just can’t find the motivation to write. And you know why?

It’s because practice isn’t enough anymore.

I’ve spent two and a quarter years practicing. I’m ready to actually do something with my writing, and the blog ain’t cutting it. I’ve been writing sci-fi short stories on the side, but I’ve yet to have a single one get published. I’ve tried writing posts that are really near and dear to my heart, but hardly anyone reads them. I’ve had idea after idea for e-books or web comics or graphic novels and none of them have made it off the ground. Practicing is not good enough! I want to actually create something people want to read! I want to touch people! I want to make them laugh, or cry, I want them to understand what’s really important! I want to show that I am a creator!

With that in mind, I need to make some changes.

I’ve been writing with one person in mind: myself. Because of this my blog is a bit of a mess as far as theme goes. It started out heavily weighted towards story and writing related posts with the occasional religious/apologetic post, and today has swung in the opposite direction with primarily apologetic related posts and the occasional post on writing. I’ve written about everything from Norwegian folk tales to objective morality to the biology of Horny Toads.  That was fine when all I cared about was getting practice, but if I want to have a successful blog then I’m going to have to start writing with other people in mind.

So I’m going to need your help. If you enjoy my blog, please comment and tell me why. Let me know what kind of posts you would be interested in reading from me. What subjects do you most enjoy me covering? Would you like to see more writing posts? Humorous posts? Apologetics? Pro-life? History? And on the other side, what kind of posts do I write that you just don’t care about? Which ones do you think suck? Really, I want to know, so feel free to lay into me with both barrels.

Over the next few weeks The Page Nebula is going to go through some massive changes. But the first step comes from you: what do you want to read?

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on September 16, 2014, in Site News. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I like your writing and I’ve enjoyed reading you. In order to increase page views, you really have to get out there and promote yourself, interact with other bloggers, attract readers. It’s not easy. I don’t think anybody really likes to try and promote themselves, but that’s what writers have to do these days, especially if they get into self publishing. Blogging is a form of self publishing, but it’s the simplest and least profitable.

    Myself, I like short short stories, 100 words or less, little vignettes. On the other hand, I enjoy a good discussion, so that’s fun too. Regardless, good luck and feel free to visit me anytime.

  2. I enjoy your posts as well and agree with IB, you need to promote yourself. One idea I would like to offer is social networking like Twitter and Facebook. If you’re on those, you might want to try promoting your blog there by encouraging readers to come view what you have shared. Post links to your blog on other people’s homepages and postings. You may have already done that, and I may be preaching to the choir here, but either way, it never hurts to remind you that it’s okay to promote yourself.

    If you’re looking for ideas, History is always fun to read about.

  3. I really liked the “Heroes we need Segments you did for a while.” I am always interested in your history posts, like the one about St. Patrick. In addition I enjoy your trivia style posts as well, like the one about the bumblebee bee recently. The one you did about the church’s response to suicide was also one of my favorites of recent posts.

  4. Looking further I also really enjoy your “Defense of…” style articles like you did with Patriotism. Swiftocracy was fun too!

Leave a Reply

