Swiftocracy!: A Chance to Rule My Blog

Runner-Vector

You may have noticed that the blog has been fairly dead lately. Posts are sporadic. My goal has been three posts a week and these days it’s more like one. Maybe. I put some of the blame for this on my job, which takes up a lot of time. But to be honest I really do have time to write blog posts. I just can’t think of anything to write about.

I mean I’ve had thoughts. I’ve thought about writing about video game criticism as a growing dicipline (but really, when was the last time I wrote about a video game? That’s not really what this blog is about), or about some of my therios about Neanderthalls and cold weather (like this blog needs a Communications major to theorize about biology, right), or even about how to make glass from scratch (interesting, but it doesn’t have to do with much of anything and since I’ve never tested it myself…). None of the ideas I get really work very well. It’s an issue.

You might recall my recent post about generating ideas. I stand by that post. I still think that the best way to generate posts is to work in limits. The problem is that I can’t even think up any limits.

That’s where you come in.

I’m starting a new feature called “Swiftocracy!,” as in, “Rule by the swift.” The first six people to comment get to dictate what I will write about for the next two weeks.  In your comment tell me what you want to hear me write about. It could be anything. You don’t even have to be specific. You could just write “BEAR CANDLES” and I’ll do my best to find something interesting about bears in regards to candles. In fact, the shorter and more limiting the writing prompt the better. This is your big chance. What do you want to hear me write about? C.S. Lewis? Young Earth Creationism? Movies? Bookbinding? Pad Thai? It can be anything you want. You have the power, but only if you are in the first six commenters. For the next two weeks this blog will be a swiftocracy.

(If you’ve never commented before then your comment may not show up right away, as I have to approve new commenters. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure to check the timestamps so the first six really are the first six. If this bumps one of the regular commenters out of the top six list, I’m sorry but you just weren’t swift enough. If your comment wants me to write about something obscene or hateful it will be trashed. Even swiftocracies have balances.)

Who will rule this blog for the next two weeks? Will they be fair? Just? Wise? I don’t know. But they will be fast.So get out there! The race starts now.!

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on December 11, 2013, in Site News, Swiftocracy!, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love the idea!
    As for what I’d love to read about, here’s a question that keeps me up at night; I’d genuinely love your thoughts:

    Where is the church with respect to the balance between feeding people emotionally, mentally, and physically–and what should be done about it?

  2. Logically and rationally defend something that you are very passionately opposed to.

  3. The history of some completely mundane thing we use everyday OR a top 10 list of your favorite somethings OR antidisestablishmentarianism OR TOASTER ATTACK!

    Alternatively, you could write a blog post without using the letter “e”.

    Just some ideas.

  4. I would want to here u talk about a multitude of things… So I’ll give u 3.

    1) books and movies! Review books that have become movies, books that should be and what that would look like, and find a way to go on a rant! Also, anything els you would like to add on this subject!

    2) pick any topick and go on a rant like tobuscus’s rants!

    3) make one chapter of a book you own in to a script! And then go on a rant about script writing!

  5. Explain your top 5 most convincing evidences that the earth is relatively young.

  6. Horny Toads and their ability to defend themselves from predators.

  1. Pingback: Swiftocracy!: How Well Has the Church Provided? | The Page Nebula

  2. Pingback: Swiftocracy!: I Cop Out Like a Weasel | The Page Nebula

  3. Pingback: Swiftocracy!: The History of Pencils (Involving High Tech Weaponry, Endangered Trees, and Chinese Emperors) | The Page Nebula

  4. Pingback: Swiftocracy!: Movies out of Books | The Page Nebula

  5. Pingback: Swiftocracy!: Foundation for the Young Earth | The Page Nebula

  6. Pingback: Swiftocracy!: Attack of the Toads | The Page Nebula

Leave a Reply

