There’s Never Enough Money

I just want everyone to know that, for the vast majority of us, there will never be enough money. When I was unemployed I thought having a nice job that makes over 20k a year would be all I would need. After I got the job I started budgeting things out, and realized that at this rate we’d still be in school debt for ten years. So I thought, if my wife finds a job then we’ll have enough money. Now she’s got a fairly good prospect, but after I run the numbers again it still doesn’t feel like enough. I look at all the people out there making 50-100k a year and I think “That would be more money then I could ever need.”

But I think the simple thing is that if I ever made that much money it would still be less than I’d like.

The wise thing isn’t to seek a larger paycheck. It’s to be thankful for what you have, be generous to those who have less, and to understand that money is a means to an end. Remember that your money serves you; you do not serve money, and you should be prepared to dismiss your servant  at a moments notice.

Another just generally good piece of advice is to avoid debt. Debt seems like an insurmountable mountain. If it was just myself I had to worry about than 20k would be more than enough. It’s looking at my debt that makes me desperate for more. So if you can avoid all debt. If you can’t, or it’s too late for that, remember that your debt does not rule you either.

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on October 21, 2013, in Giving. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

