The Scorecard: My First Year of Blogging

As I mentioned last week, my blog’s one year anniversary was last Thursday. When I started the blog I had no idea what the blog was going to be about. I only had one goal: to write three posts a week for the purpose of improving my writing ability. Now obviously I did not succeed at that. But I did give it my best shot. The question is, how well did I do overall? If this was a test would I get a D or a B-?

Let’s take a look.

There are 52 weeks in a year. Simple math tells us that means a total target number of 156 posts. However, it’s not that simple. There were also two weeks where I announced that I would be unable to post at all due to inescapable life events, one week where I could only post once due to sickness, and a period of seven weeks where I changed the update schedule to twice a week. Putting all that into account, the target number becomes 141 posts.

To date I have posted 88 times.

A little time and a little help from the calculator tells me that my “grade” for the year is 62.4%. A D-.

Huh. That was worse than I thought.

On the other hand, I didn’t get an F. And those 88 posts are 88 more than I started with.

So, out with the old and in with the new! Let’s see if I can beat a D- this year.

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on June 10, 2013, in Site News, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can we take into account the high quality of your posts and give you at least a C?

Leave a Reply

