You Can’t Write This Stuff

Summer’s over and so is my job at Mt.Ranier. I am a park ranger no more. Now I’m working part-time in my school’s computer lab. I set up equipment for presentations and classes, but mostly my job involves sitting behind a desk and solving people’s problems.

Here is some actual dialogue from about a week ago. I didn’t make this up; this is one hundred percent genuine. The setting: the computer lab, early morning. The place was close to empty. A woman gets up from a computer, walks across the room, and gets on another computer. She tells me that the computer kicked her off while she was in the middle of researching a project. What follows is my attempt to get some more information.

 

ME: So did the computer turn off or did it just boot you off?

HER: Yes.

ME: Which one?

HER: *points vaguely at a row of computers across the room* That one.

ME: No, I mean did the computer itself turn off or did it just log you off?

HER:Yes that computer itself did it.

ME: I mean did the computer shut down?

HER:Yes. It put me back on the login screen.

ME: …Okay.

 

You can’t write this stuff people.

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Humor. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The truth is always way more funny than fiction!

Leave a Reply

