Don’t Think About Stress

Note: this post is more of a creative piece than insightful commentary. So don’t take it too seriously.

I found out today that the perception of stress causes many of the body’s physical responses to stress. Not the actual stress itself; just perceiving it.

I was never stressed as a kid. Not to say I had no stressful events or periods in my childhood; I had the usual amount of worry, pain, and struggle. I just didn’t know what stress was. If you asked me to define stress I wouldn’t have been able to tell you. Stress was a word adults said, completely foreign to my experience.  I didn’t know I was under stress until I was in High School. I never perceived that I was under stress before that point. I was tired, or worried, or scared, or frustrated, but never stressed. Now I have the meaning of the word and like magic the sensation has formed to support it. Now I’m worried, scared, frustrated, and STRESSED. Now I can no longer just take life as it comes, accept bad things as being as natural as good things (like wise Job: “The Lord gives and the Lord takes away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.”) but instead I have STRESS.

STRESS needs to be cut out! STRESS will raise your blood pressure, weaken your immune system, and lower your life expectancy! You need to take a vacation, breathe deeply, meditate, unwind, and stretch daily or else STRESS will slowly kill you. You need to go to seminars on STRESS relief, a new STRESS ball full of plastic beans, and more STRESS avoidance education to fight this menace.

And now they tell me that just knowing I’m STRESSED is what hurts my body? What hurts me?

Then why did they tell me about stress in the first place?!

Sigh.

There are still monsters in our closets. They just go by different names.

 

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

