LinkstravaGANZA

Alright, it’s almost the end of summer and I’m packing my bags to head to school for my senior year. As such, I don’t have time to write a long and detailed post today. So I thought I would just treat ou all to links to some of my favorite places on the internet.

I have an internet routine. I go to just about the same 14 sites every day, usually in a particular order. I’m not going to go through that whole order now (but it sound something like pvponlinexkcdnedroiddrmcninjagiantitperfworldchainsawsuitsheldoncomicsgunnerkriggcourtkevinandkellshamusyoungescapistmagazine most days) but I will share my favorites, in an order that will likely seem arbitrary to you but will have some hidden meaning for me.

First, you might be familiar with the webcomic xkcd. With a blend of quirky non sequitors and geeky puchlines it rarely fails to get my chuckle goin’. What you might not be familiar with is that the author, Randall Munroe, has started a branch of website called What If? Every tuesday he answers a submitted hypothetical question as seriously as he can using his physics degree. The seriousness is the most important part, because the questions themselves are often riduculous. It’s an awesome read if you like science and humor. If you don’t then I have nothing for you here. I mean you don’t even like humor? Huh. Yeah, got nothing.

This one is one of my personal favorites, as it realistically looks at the results of a modern robot uprising with hilarious results. This one about what would happen if you had a mole of moles is pretty good too. Check it out, you’ll probably enjoy it.

Next up is a website I love and respect so much that it’s on my favorites bar. Which is big, for me. It’s also the website that helped inspire me to start blogging myself. Twenty Sided is a fantastic blog by the talented Shamus Young. It covers video games, technology, writing, programming, and whatever cool thing pops into his head at the time. He’s an excellent writer and he makes complicated and opaque subjects like programming and explains them in a way that is entertaining and enlightening. Plus he updates regularly and what more can you ask for from a blog than that?

He’s made a few webcomics along the way, and a good place to start (if you’re a fan of Lord of the Rings or roleplaying games) is with his first and most popular comic, DM of the Rings. The basic idea is “What if Lord of the Rings was a D&D campaign?” If that doesn’t sound interesting to you then just check out his main blog. It’s a great site to add to your own internet routine.

….huh. I guess rule of three demands that I share a third website. Unfortunately I’m drawing a blank. On the other hand, I guess linking “rule of three” to tvtropes.org is linking to a third website. So. Tvtropes.org is a really cool website. It’s a great time waster, if you’re bored. Check it out sometime.

Welp. Gotta go pack. Go enjoy.

 

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Humor, Link, Webcomics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

