Storytime Friday: Time for a New Tale (and Some Art!)

I’d say that Storytime Fridays have been a success so far. If you missed out on the last tale, “The Giant Who Had No Heart”, you can read it from the beginning here. Next week I will begin a new story, but I want you’re help in picking it. I’ve chosen three Norwegian folk tales that I’m interested in writing; I just need you to decide which one. Here they are with their titles and a short, teasing, description.

 

East of the Sun and West of the Moon

A northern version of the myth of Cupid and Psyche complete with magic polar bears, trolls, and a quest for redemption in a land east of the sun and west of the moon.

The Honest Penny

A tale of honesty, desperation, compassion, floating coins, and strange felines. Will good intentions win out, or is it true that every man should watch out for himself?

The Widow’s Son

When the poor widow’s son had to go earn his own living he considered himself lucky to become a rich man’s servant; but what could possibly be hidden behind the four doors in his master’s basement, doors he has been forbidden to open? When he finally looks what he finds will change his life forever.

 

Will ya look at that? It looks like I’m capable enough to write the terrible blurbs  you find on the backs of paperbacks. Still, I can’t really go into a detailed description without spoiling the plot. Comment with the one you like: if you’re a Facebook friend of mine just post your vote on my wall. Whichever wins by midnight on Monday will be featured on Storytime Fridays for the next month or so. Choose wisely.

In the meantime I’m happy to announce that Zingallsartman, who illustrates my webcomic SLOPAN, has already started putting together some illustrations for “The Giant Who Had No Heart”. Below you can find some of his concept sketches for the giant himself! The final illustrations will be in color and I can’t wait to take a look at them. Enjoy!

 

 

 

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

