Some Sad News

Hey guys. I’m glad everyone seemed to enjoy Monday’s post. It was fun to write and apparently funny to read. It’s my most viewed post so far, and I would have liked to follow it up with something else that was lighthearted and funny.

Unfortunately life has gotten in the way.

I wrote Monday’s post on Saturday night, which turned out to be a good decision on my part. I normally would have written it on Sunday but I knew I would be busy. You see my grandpa was in the hospital, and I was going to go visit him. Recently he’s been having trouble sleeping, and kept fainting from exhaustion during the day. That was a bit worrisome, but that’s all. Nothing to get worked up about. But then he collapsed in the hallway and banged the back of his head on a door hinge. They had to take him in to get stitches. They did a CAT scan and found that there was some bleeding in the brain, and it was forming a large blood clot underneath his skull. Apparently this isn’t hard to fix…if you’re in your twenties or thirties. But my grandpa is 88 years old. In order to take care of it they would have to open up his skull, and because of his age there was a serious chance of him dying on the table. Our whole family was worried. We all started praying fervently for grandpa to make it through surgery okay. When he got through surgery without dying we were all relieved. That’s when my brother and I decided to head up with my dad to see him on Sunday.

On the way there we got a call. The bleeding hadn’t stopped. The blood clot was reforming. There was nothing more we could do. Now it’s just a matter of waiting for the clot to kill him.

So I’m afraid I can’t really write anything lighthearted right now. I can’t seem to write much of anything.

They’ve brought grandpa home now. He’s going to spend his last days there, where he’s more comfortable. Away from the needles and the tests and the strange rooms. When I saw him last his was still unconscious, drugged out of his mind on painkillers. I don’t know if he’s going to ever fully wake up.

I spent a lot of time trying to prepare myself for this, growing up. I knew that someday he would die. But it was so sudden…he was so healthy. You don’t expect to wake up one day and find that someone you love is about to die.

I’m glad that the last time I got to be with him was good. My little brother David and I were listening to him tell us stories about his time serving in WWII. We listened and asked questions for over an hour. I didn’t know that would be the last time I would get to talk to him.

Sorry to dump all these sad thoughts on you. But I think they’re important. If your grandpa is still alive, if anyone you love deeply is still alive, be sure to let them know how much they mean to you. Tell them how proud you are of them, how much you love them. Life is too short for shallow hugs and polite goodbyes. And people are too fragile.

Friday will be the conclusion of “The Giant Who Had No Heart”. Next week should be random posts like usual.

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I totally understand where you are coming from… both my grandmothers died suddenly within these last two years without any warning, healthy one day gone the next… I’m terribly sorry for what you are going through… my grandpa has Parkinsons disease so your last paragraph definately hit home for me.

Leave a Reply

