Blogging My Religion

If you’ve read my first post then you know why I decided to write this blog. It was to make myself a better writer and to get my name known out there. I wanted potential employers to be able to take a look at my writing firsthand, or stumble across me on the off chance somebody links here. I also originally planned for my blog to be featured on the Neefu Productions website, a small company a friend of mine started recently. He needed content and I needed a host for my blog so it seemed like a good fit, especially since he’s already hosting my webcomic SLOPAN. But then I ran into a problem. The problem being whether or not I should blog about my religion.

You see, I’m a Christian. God is extremely important to me. Jesus is at the center of my life. Though I want desperately to be a writer, there is something I want even more than that: to spend my life doing what pleases God. I want to help people. I want to share what insights God has given me. I want to be an advocate for the poor, the unborn, and the persecuted. I want to be able to share God’s love with those who have not known it.

On the other hand if I talk freely about God on my blog I’m going to limit my potential audience. There are a lot more people on the internet willing to read about rat brains and webcomics than Jesus. There are some people who, even if they enjoyed everything else I wrote about, would leave and never return after reading the second paragraph of this post. There are a lot of employers out there who might be turned off by religious posts as well. I certainly won’t be doing my career many favors.

Of course I could just let people know that I’m a Christian and not beat it over anyone’s heads. There are several bloggers I read and respect who went that route. I could do that. Maybe the occasional post about my love for C.S. Lewis, a “Happy Birthday Jesus” at Christmas, and not using any swear words would be enough. I don’t want to disparage anyone who chooses that. If a Christian journalist doesn’t put God into their column regularly nobody says he’s denying Christ. He’s just doing his job, knowing that most of his readers aren’t Christians and that he’s there to report the news, not evangelize. For some blogs it’s the same situation. Their blogs aren’t about God, they’re about videogames or books or programming.

But my blog isn’t about anything yet.

I had to decide whether I wanted God to be a part of this blog. You can already tell what choice I made. I’ll be very sad if talking about my faith means this blog won’t be successful. But I’d rather have an unsuccessful blog where I can talk honestly and freely then one with thousands of readers where I have to cut out the most important part of my life.

I’m not sure what I’ll be talking about on Wednesday, but just so you know God is not off the table. On the other hand neither are rat brains, so that’s not entirely helpful.

About Mark Hamilton

I am, in no particular order, a nerd, an aspiring writer, a Christian, an aspiring filmmaker, an avid reader, a male, a YEC, a GM, and a twenty something. I like learning how things are made, finding out how to do things from scratch, and I you can find more of my writing at thepagenebula.wordpress.com

Posted on June 18, 2012, in Christianity, Site News. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

